5 stage model (Gilly Salmon) for designing e-tivities

Gilly Salmon’s simple model can be applied to the development of online activities and courses. It provides a framework or scaffold for a structured and paced programme of e-tivities. The model entails essential support and development to participants at each stage as they build up expertise in learning online.

The stages are:

  1. Access and motivation
  2. Team Building
  3. Information exchange
  4. Knowledge construction
  5. Development

See Gilly Salmon’s web page for more details.